Catching Up


Hey Readers!

Long time no… anything. Sorry about that. It’s been, what, two years?

I figured this post would be a good one to catch all y’all up one what’s happened since the car overheating in Virginia. So, here we go.

Virginia: My car was stupid and ended up taking its last breaths there. RIP Trixie. You did good things for me. Then you sucked. The End. BUT!!! Because you sucked, I ended up taking a vacation to San Francisco for the 4th of July in 2010. That vacation turned into me getting a job and living there for two and a half years. WHAT?! I know.

California: I went there for a week-long vacation before moving back to Utah. Ended up having a job interview at Stanford University (Thanks Traci!! You’re the best wife ever!) and ended up being offered the job the day before I was supposed to hop back on a plane and wing my way back to the mountains.  I moved in with the Wife and her husband in Vallejo for six months then landed myself in Palo Alto (where Stanford is located) until I moved again in November of 2012 and landed myself back in Utah. We’ll get to the Utah thing in a bit.

A lot happened in that time. I worked at Stanford University in a HIV Clinic. My sister passed away. I was able to have my mom come out to visit me in San Francisco for her birthday present. I learned I am loved. I went to Disneyland. I learned to ask for help when I need it and to allow people to help me. I went to my first gay bar and kissed a gay man. I went to Gay Pride and saw a few Drag shows. I danced. I became a baseball fan. I talked to a Nobel Prize recipient and didn’t even know it. I went to the beach, rode a few rollercoasters, and almost got caught in a riot in Oakland. All in all, I grew up. If you’re curious about any of the events above and would like more explanation, I’d be happy to oblige. Just not during this post. But be sure to ask! I’d love to tell you all about it. 🙂

Utah: I moved back to Salt Lake thanks to knowing that my time in the Bay was coming to and end because I needed a change and because my roommate was getting married and keeping the apartment. (Erin was an incredible roommate and I’m lucky to have lived with her for almost two years. 😀 She’s the best!!!) I ended up getting a job in Murray and moved back about 3 weeks later. I packed up my car on November 1st and drove my happy little self back to my mountains. So, here I am! Back in Salt Lake. I feel just like my old self and completely different at the same time.

A lot has happened since I’ve been back, too.

That's Taka. I took him to Th Utah Symphony at Abravanel Hall for his Christmas present. Aren't we cute?

That’s Taka. I took him to the Utah Symphony at Abravanel Hall. It was his Christmas present. Aren’t we cute?

I fell in love. I’m still in love. And he loves me, too. I played my first April Fool’s prank and pretended to be engaged. People really fell for it and were sooooooo mad at me (It was AWESOME!). I am looking for a new job. I went to Hawaii. I still know that people love me. I’m still asking for help and trying to allow myself to accept the generosity of amazing people. I’m working on being ok with having my picture taken (NOTE: This does not give anyone the right to use this knowledge against me. I’m WORKING on it. It is still going to take time so don’t push or I’ll revert back to the camera ninja. You’ve been warned.). I’ve been rock climbing. Twice. Ish. I’m still dancing. And djing. And thinking of starting up a wedding DJ business sometime in the future. And I think I want to be a psychologist when I grow up. We shall see!

Well, now you’re all pretty much caught up. Any questions, concerns, or comments?

About Mishimmy

Just a person who says stuff from time to time.
This entry was posted in Just to let you know, Ramblings..., Roller Coaster Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Catching Up

  1. Liz Jensen says:

    You are awesome! I love your guts! And I need to see you (and Taka) again in the nearish future. I know you’re busy but it’s hard for us to get out dancing these days, so please tell me when we can feed you and chat with you again!

  2. Janeta says:

    I love it!

  3. Colleen says:

    So great to get the short version update on how much has happened in the oast few years. I’m blessed to have met you in PA. You amaze me and are one of the strongest women I know. I’m so happy you’ve found love and that new adventures await!

Leave a Reply

