Lent


Yep! It’s that time of year again when Catholics give something up in the name of Jesus. I think it’s kinda genius. So I’m gonna do it. Again. And I’m not even Catholic. 😀

I gave up sweets last year for 45 days (it would have been 46 but I didn’t find out Lent was Lent until the day Lent started so I started the next day. But, trust me, I still gave it up for that amount of time.)

It was harder than I thought. I didn’t realize how much I really did crave them until I decided to give them up. Or maybe it was just the fact that I was telling myself that I couldn’t have them. Either way, harder than I thought.

This year I’m doing the sweets thing again. Just because I know I can and it will help me drop 5-10 lbs. This year I’m also adding in working out 6 days a week. Working out Monday – Thursday at 7 am and at 9 am on Friday and Saturday. Monday, Wednesday and Friday will be cardio for 30 minutes  & strength training for 30 minutes. Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday will be cardio for an hour. Totally doable, right?

What all of this entails giving up is some socializing and staying up late. It also includes being overindulgent on trying to sleep in. It means waking up at 6:45 am during the week and 8:45 on the weekends. And, believe you me, I love me some sleep.

What’s really going to suck and be hard is when I’m doing my cross-country drive when I move from Utah to Virginia. I’ll have to figure that out somehow. Maybe I’ll just do cardio on those days as my weights will be packed away. But hey, I’m keeping with the spirit of it all, right? AND I promise I won’t eat any sweets on my long long long drive. I’ll stick to salty bad for you stuff. 🙂

So, the next thing to do is find out if anyone wants to do Lent with me. You can give up whatever you want. But are you in it with me for the 46 days? It’s for a good cause! You’re giving up something bad for God. You kinda can’t get much more worthwhile than that.

You with me? Huh? Are ya? Come on. You know you want to!

About Mishimmy

Just a person who says stuff from time to time.
This entry was posted in Ramblings... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lent

  1. kait says:

    i’m in on “foods that start with CH-“… these are totally MY arbitrary rules, so that mostly means cheese, chocolate, and chips; all other items are renamed if i feel like it 🙂

    and all because the boyfriend said i wasn’t allowed to give up caffeine again…

    and yay roadtrip to VA!!

  2. Elizabeth Green says:

    AWESOME!!! I am so proud of you. I need to sit down and think about what I can do right along with you. I was working out every day until I came here to visit Michael. Haven’t worked out ONCE here. I’m gonna get RIGHT back on it when I get home tomorrow though. 😉

Leave a Reply

