A Pet Peeve of mine.


Do you know what just tweaks my melon somethin’ fierce? It doesn’t need to as much as it does but it does as much as it does……Christmas forever early. It gives me a twitch in my left eye a little.

I live in Utah. For some reason people here think that when the Holidays (did you catch the plural on that?) come around that it should actually be only thought of as one Holiday. Christmas Christmas Chrismas. Now don’t get me wrong. I love Christmas as much as any normal person should. I’m all for being giving and extra loving and all, BUT I’m also a big fan of the things that preceed that.

Take Thanksgiving. It is a FANTASTIC holiday. We celebrate it to remember the good stuff in life because, let’s face it, we have way too much fun being ungrateful the rest of the year unless we’re forced to do other wise. So we give ourselves the chance to remember why life is worth living. Or so one would think…..

Not actually the case. Thanksgiving has become an almost completely worthless holiday. Christmas has taken over. I’m driving down the street and people have Christmas decorations up, Christmas music has been playing since BEFORE Halloween (that’s right. You read that correctly) and I feel all commercialized and and a little dirty because of it.

I say let me have the Holidays in the correct order. Give me my Halloween so I can over indulge on bite sized candies, be someone or something else for a night so I can wreak as much havoc as I can (which being me, isn’t very much havoc at all. Huh, now that I think of it, I can’t remember the last time I actually wreaked any havoc. What is this “havoc” that I’m speaking of? Anyway, I still want to be able to wreak some someday.) and feel like a heathen to some degree.

Then let the joys of Thanksgiving help ease the guilt of my gluttony and indulgence. Let me remember the good people that make me smile and help me make it through my days. Let me realize just what I have so I can be more open to seeing what others don’t have and what, in my over-flowing abundance (or meager bits of extra), I can do to help those around me.

Then, when this point has been reached, give me Christmas. This then becomes the time of year that it should be. A time of love, Charity, patience, and peace unto all.A time of remembering the greatest gift that was ever given and what a loving God we have.

See? I like Christmas too. But, I ask you, do you see where I’m coming from? Do you??

Ok. Sorry I went all sorts of crazy on you back there. I’m breathing again. Heart rate is going back to a normal pace. All is well. *Smiles*

About Mishimmy

Just a person who says stuff from time to time.
This entry was posted in Pet Peeves, Ramblings... and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Pet Peeve of mine.

  1. Michelle says:

    Traci, I’ll forgive you but only because it was Herb Alpert. šŸ˜‰

  2. Michelle says:

    Hey Jennifer, Thanks! I’m really glad you liked it! šŸ˜€

  3. traci says:

    confession: i listened to chistmas music while i was making pies on sunday. but it was herb alpert, and therefore awesome.

    love, your ex-wife

  4. Jennifer says:

    I think playing christmas music before Thanksgiving is a bit nuts. But I have to admit I am one of those nuts who have there christmas up already, I just finished yesterday. But in my defense I am having the parents over for a pre Thanksgiving dinner and wanted it to be decorated for that. I would normally wait until Thanksgiving to put up my stuff. But I love the post, very funny and true!

  5. Jessica says:

    Haha, call me one of those crazies, but I really like it! I LOVE the other holidays and get excited for them too. But I can’t help it when it snows in November to listen to Christmas music. I do the whole shabang for Thanksgiving all on my own I make the whole meal. I just LOVE the Christmas season and I kind of like that we get 2 months to enjoy it with Thanksgiving. I just do them at the same time. I am always stressed and busy in December and by the time Christmas comes along I feel I missed it, didn’t listen to enough carols- if I only listen in December, which is why I listen in November too. I didn’t make enough treats, play in the snow, read enough Christmas books, give enough, etc. When its over, I am sad because I have to wait until next year. I just really love how the holiday makes me feel. So call me a cookoo- crazy- Utahn, but I love it!

  6. Michelle says:

    I know!! Those crazy Utahns are something else, huh? šŸ˜€

  7. Sarah says:

    I totally agree! I’m in Utah too, and it always bugs me when christmas comes early. I remember going out Halloween and seeing houses with Christmas lights on. Thanksgiving is totally under-appreciated.

  8. Nicole says:

    One of the stores near my house put up Christmas stuff as soon as they took down all the back to school stuff. Sam’s Club put up those ridiculous inflated snow globes in August. I think Halloween gets adequate attention, but Thanksgiving gets the shaft! Sure, fall colors aren’t as dramatic as say orange and black , or red and white….but Thanksgiving should get so much more street cred!

  9. mishimmy says:

    That could be so much fun! But I think the Christmas crazies would get a little mad and call the cops on me. That would not be fun.

  10. amy says:

    you could always wreak havoc by getting a blow gun and unleashing your anger on all the blow up lawn decorations

Leave a Reply

